Hotel Association of Canada

About HAC Membership Programs/Services News & Resources Members Area Contact












Hall of Fame Awards of Excellence - Rewarding Strong Industry Standards


The Hotel Association of Canada’s Hall of Fame Awards of Excellence Program was developed in 2004 with the purpose of recognizing those of its members (individuals, companies, properties) that have demonstrated significant accomplishments, exemplary leadership and tireless commitment to Canada’s lodging industry.

Awards are presented annually to HAC members in the following categories:

The Humanitarian Award:
The purpose of this award is to recognize those working in or who are affiliated with Canada’s lodging industry who demonstrate dedication and responsiveness to the needs of the local, national and/or global community.

The Human Resources Award:
Given for programs/individuals that develop a climate conducive to new and/or repeat business, create goodwill among guests, provide special services, reverse negative public relations situations or effectively solve guest complaints.

The Green Key Environment Award:
Recognizes lodging properties that have developed a culture towards integrating environmental management practices that improve everyday operations and the bottom line, while maintaining quality service and meeting guest expectations.

The Green Key Meetings Award:
Recognizes properties (hotels, motels, resorts, convention centers, golf courses etc.) that have incorporated environmental initiatives to its meeting and event spaces which minimize their negative impact on the environment; from energy and water consumption, travel & transportation, food & beverage, handouts, garbage and more.

The Stephen Phillips Passion For Hospitality Bursary:
This bursary is dedicated to the memory of Stephen Phillips, former Vice-Chairman & CEO of AFM Hospitality Corporation Inc., who passed away from cancer in early 2007. The bursary will be awarded to the hospitality student who best represents the qualities that Stephen Phillips brought to the industry.

Nomination deadline for the 2016 Awards is Friday November 11, 2016.

Nominations and Submissions

  • HAC encourages the electronic submission of all nominations and support materials.
  • Electronic submissions should be marked with the subject line: HAC Awards Submission plus the name of the award category you are submitting to. Email to:
  • Mailed/Couriered submissions (no staples please) should be marked “Confidential”, should include the name of the award category, and be addressed to:

Awards Committee
Attn: Linda Hartwell
Hotel Association of Canada
130 Albert St., Suite 1206
Ottawa, ON K1P-5G4

Awards will be presented at the HAC Annual Conference in Toronto on February 15-16 2016 at the Sheraton Toronto Airport Hotel & Conference Centre.

Website by: TNJ Computer Associates